Here’s the Beef on the Best and Worst Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options (2023)

If you’re craving some greasy fries or a juicy burger but you’re gluten-free, it can be hard to find fast-food options.

Ronald McDonald might not be showing off a gluten-free menu, but some fast-food chains have upped their gluten-free game. Chains like KFC and Popeyes, which are known for fried items, likely won’t have too many options.

But fear not — some restaurants are hopping on the gluten-free train. We’ve rounded up the top gluten-free fast-food options, and we’ll tell you how fast food stacks up when it comes to gluten contamination.

Here’s the Beef on the Best and Worst Gluten-Free Fast-Food Options (1)Share on Pinterest

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you’ll need to avoid any products that contain this protein. Wheat products like breads and pastas may be the first to come to mind, but gluten can sometimes pop up in other packaged foods too.

When eating out, it can be difficult to eat gluten-free since sandwiches come on buns and salads often include breaded chicken and croutons. Even if you order your meal without these gluten-containing foods, cross contamination can happen in the kitchen.

As you would at any other restaurant, be mindful of the possibility of cross contamination at fast-food joints. The biggest culprit is frying oil.

Oil is naturally gluten-free, but restaurants may use the same batch of oil to fry a bunch of different foods. Once that oil has been used to fry gluten-containing foods (nuggets, anyone?), it’s def contaminated — and so are the french fries or any other foods that take a dip in the oil afterward.

Even with GF labels, the risk could still be high since the food prep is fast. If you have an allergy, don’t be afraid to ask specifically how your food is cooked and mention that it must be gluten-free.

Telling the staff might help limit cross contamination that can happen if folks touch gluten-containing foods while prepping your meal.

Wondering what you can actually eat? After weighing all the gluten-free options, we’ve broken down what’s available and what’s potentially risky at America’s fave fast-food chains.

Here’s how we evaluated our GF picks:

  • Was there a gluten-free menu? We searched each restaurant’s website and menus to see which options should be gluten-free or are clearly labeled.
  • Best gluten-free options. We looked over the entire menu to see what the options are and whether the most popular menu items are considered gluten-free.
  • Best menu item. What is a well-known or most popular item on the menu? We researched what the GF community loves.
  • Cross-contamination risk. Do they use the same or different fryer oils? How is the food prepared? We looked at processes to note where the risks are.
  • Transparency. Some websites clearly state whether the restaurant is a gluten-free-friendly environment or not, giving a heads-up about fryer oil and cross contamination. We considered what restaurants might be better based on their transparency about GF menu items and cross-contamination practices.


There is ALWAYS a risk of gluten cross contamination unless a restaurant is specifically gluten-free.

To help minimize risk, let the staff know about your gluten allergy or intolerance when ordering. But contamination is still possible, so eat fast food with caution.

If you have celiac disease, a heightened gluten sensitivity, or a wheat allergy, you might want to avoid fast food completely.

Five Guys

Good news for all the Five Guys fans: You can eat a lot here if you forgo the bun. The website also has a chart for anyone with specific allergies.

Most of the toppings on the menu are gluten-free, and you can get burgers wrapped in lettuce. Most importantly, all fries are cooked in a gluten-free fryer.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • burgers (no bun or with lettuce wrap)
  • fries
  • plain milkshakes
  • hot dogs (no bun)

Bottom line: High five, guys

Since Five Guys has a pretty gluten-free-friendly menu, there’s a lower risk of cross contamination. That doesn’t mean you aren’t at risk, but the odds are in your favor in comparison to other chains.

You can also specifically tell them you have an allergy, which they will note when making your order.

Five Guys also mentions to avoid these foods due to gluten:

  • malted milk and cherry milkshake mix-ins
  • Oreo piece mix-ins
  • malt vinegar
  • Fry Sauce

Note: Five Guys uses peanut oil to fry, so you’ll want to avoid this chain if you have a peanut allergy.

(Video) We Try & Review GLUTEN-FREE Fast Food ~Honest~


Wendy’s doesn’t have a gluten-free menu, but it has a larger number of options than similar fast-food joints. You always have the option to skip the bun for a gluten-free burger. Salads without fried chicken and croutons are also considered gluten-free.

The chain also acknowledges on its website that it’s not considered a gluten-free restaurant but notes items on the menu that contain wheat.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • taco salad
  • chili
  • variety of baked potatoes with toppings
  • Frosty *cue the balloons and streamers*

Bottom line: Wendy’s is pretty fresh for GF peeps

Even though Wendy’s doesn’t have a gluten-free menu, it has quite a few options that are actually a meal and should be gluten-free.

As with most small-environment fast-food places, there is a risk of contamination. But our top GF picks naturally don’t contain gluten and are often prepped ahead of time. The contamination risk for these items is a lot lower than the risk when getting a burger without a bun.


Your favorite cow mascot is not considered gluten-free, but there are some options, including a new gluten-free bun. That’s a pretty big deal for a fast-food chain.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • waffle potato chips (fried in different oil than the breaded chicken)
  • fruit cups
  • side salads
  • added bacon
  • grilled chicken
  • grilled chicken nuggets (not breaded)

Bottom line: You can prob eat more chicken here

If you want an actual meal, you can get one here. Just give them a heads-up when you order so they’re aware of any cross-contamination risk. Chick-fil-A does acknowledge that cross contamination is a risk, so you’ll still want to be careful.

But the separate frying oil is a game-changer if you need your fry fill. And having a gluten-free bun shows they’re trying.


Just about everything at Chipotle is gluten-free except the flour tortillas (so sorry, no iconic burritos). Chipotle also has a comprehensive list on its website of all items for anyone with certain allergies or special diets.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • burrito bowl with any of the toppings, even the famous guacamole (And yes, we know guac costs extra…)
  • corn tortillas

Bottom line: Have your guac and eat it too

Because you have almost no restrictions on what you can eat, Chipotle may be one of the best chains for gluten-free eating.

But cross contamination is possible as a result of the ingredient ladles touching flour tortillas when burritos are being made. If you have celiac disease, you might want to skip this chain or be extremely cautious.

In-N-Out Burger

Good news! Just about all In-N-Out Burger items are gluten-free without the bun! All burgers can be made “protein-style,” which means wrapped in lettuce and free of gluten.

(Video) Gluten Free Fast Food Review | Restricted Kitchen

Another plus: The french fries are cooked separately in 100 percent sunflower oil, so they’re perfectly gluten-free for you.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry shakes
  • french fries
  • hamburger with onion (no bun)
  • cheeseburger (no bun)
  • Double-Double Burger with onion (no bun)

Bottom line: Lettuce give thanks for protein-style and GF fries

In-N-Out Burger appears to do a pretty decent job with gluten-free options and tries to avoid contamination. The restaurant even has an allergy button when ordering, which might help limit contamination risk if you have celiac disease.

Shake Shack

We have to give Shake Shack mad props for having an in-depth section on its website about allergies, including wheat. It includes descriptions of what has wheat and what might have a trace of wheat.

All fry options have a chance of cross contamination, so you’ll want to ditch the fries.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • burger patty with gluten-free bun
  • all floats
  • vanilla, chocolate, coffee, strawberry, and peachtree milkshakes

If you’re getting any ice cream, be sure to lose the cone and have it in a cup. But pretty much everything on the menu is full of heavy gluten-containing items.

Bottom line: Stand for some… burgers and shakes

If a single beef patty on a gluten-free bun and a milkshake is your fast-food vibe, go for it. But no fries here, which is a bummer.

Just remember that Shake Shack is still higher-risk due to the amount of gluten-containing food being made in a small work environment.


Arby’s does a good job of keeping its customers aware of which foods contain gluten and which can be easily contaminated. Most of the meals are gluten-free if you skip the bun.

Arby’s does warn customers to avoid any potato-based items, like the Homestyle Fries and Potato Cakes, because they’re fried in the same oil as gluten-containing foods.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • vanilla and chocolate milkshakes
  • Chopped Farmhouse Salad with roasted turkey
  • sausage and bacon
  • Angus beef (no bun)
  • roast beef (no bun)

Bottom line: Has the meats but not the bun

This chain might be good for a salad or shake, but what’s an Arby’s sandwich without the bun? Definitely not a top contender, but there are options.

Panera Bread

Don’t let the name fool you — Panera Bread has a pretty decent variety of gluten-free menu items and lists them on its website. Unfortunately, no sandwiches are on that list, but all soups and salads can be made without croutons.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • Baja Warm Grain Bowl
  • Mediterranean Warm Grain Bowl
  • Greek salads
  • Fuji Apple Salad
  • Green Goddess Cobb Salad with Chicken
  • yogurts and oatmeals
  • Southwest Chicken Tortilla Soup

Some favorite GF treats at certain locations include the coconut macaroon and the triple chocolate cookie with walnuts. Shout-out to Panera for having some GF dessert options!

Bottom line: Food as it should be… if you don’t have celiac disease

Celiac peeps should be wary. While Panera is more gluten-conscious than some other chains, cross contamination can happen. (It is a bakery, after all.)

Panera specifically notes that if you have celiac disease, its GF items might not be for you. (Translation: There’s a contamination risk.) Always be sure to mention your allergy or sensitivity when ordering.

(Video) 10 Fast Food Items You Should Never Order Under Any Circumstances


Sonic is another chain without a gluten-free menu, but the chain says all its grilled items are gluten-free (except the buns).

The ice cream is supposedly gluten-free, but keep an eye on any add-ins you get in your shake. You also probably won’t find gluten-free fries or Tater Tots if they’re cooked in the same oil as the breaded items. But some locations may have separate fryers — just ask.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • hamburgers and hot dogs (without buns)
  • bacon
  • sausage
  • eggs
  • ice cream and shakes (watch the toppings)
  • slushes

Bottom line: Service at the speed of sound… with a side of contamination?

It’s a toss-up whether the fries and Tater Tots are gluten-free, and there’s a high risk of cross contamination.

Sonic is a tricky one for GF food options, so be sure to tell the employees about your allergy when ordering. If you’re ordering with someone else, be sure their food doesn’t touch yours. You don’t want those gluten-y fries all up on your bunless burger.

But if you’re craving ice cream or a slush, you should be A-OK at Sonic.


This is a tough one. It doesn’t look like you’ll be getting a gluten-free $5 footlong from Subway. The restaurant lists on its website all foods for anyone with allergy sensitivities, but most of the menu includes gluten. Your best bet would be a salad plus most meats or soups.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • Tomato Basil Soup
  • Broccoli & Cheddar Soup
  • Black Bean Soup
  • Gluten-Free Brownie (certain locations)
  • gluten-free packaged English muffins for breakfast sandwiches (certain locations)

Bottom line: Eat fresh if you don’t want a sub

Cross contamination is a high risk at Subway, and the options are pretty minimal. While certain locations have some GF options, you’re not gonna get the iconic Subway meal — just some soup or a salad.

Taco Bell

Taco Bell doesn’t claim that any of its food is gluten-free due to contamination risk during prep. Even though some items are made without gluten, they may be made with the same fryer oil or in the same area as gluten-containing foods, risking gluten exposure.

But the website does include a guide to what should be gluten-free.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • Power Menu Bowl
  • Black Beans and Rice
  • Crunchy Taco
  • Hash Brown
  • Doritos Locos Tacos

Bottom line: Live Mas, but with contamination risks

This one is fairly high risk, since Taco Bell doesn’t claim to be a gluten-free fast-food chain. Be wary before ordering if you have celiac disease or are gluten-sensitive.


Hello, nostalgic childhood Happy Meals. McDonald’s is one of the first names to come to mind when thinking of fast food. Unfortch, McDonald’s doesn’t have a gluten-free menu — but any burger can be made gluten-free without the bun. Sorry, Sir Mix-a-Lot, perhaps a lettuce wrap instead?

Here are the best gluten-free options:

(Video) Gluten Intolerance Symptoms (9 EARLY SIGNS You Are Gluten Intolerant!) *Non-Celiac*

  • burgers without buns
  • most salads (grilled chicken only!)
  • McFlurry with M&Ms
  • yogurt parfait

Bottom line: We’re not lovin’ it

McDonald’s might be one of America’s top fast-food joints, but those with gluten allergies or celiac disease might want to head elsewhere. Risk of cross contamination with gluten is pretty high here.

Oh, and sorry to break it to you, but the Special Sauce on the Big Mac isn’t gluten-free, either.


Well, there’s not much to say here except Kentucky. Fried. Chicken. The menu is solely based on breaded and fried foods, so if you want anything here, it’s gonna have to be a side dish.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • mashed potatoes
  • corn on the cob
  • coleslaw
  • green beans

Bottom line: Probs avoid the colonel if you want a GF meal

KFC might not be the best place to run to for some fast gluten-free comfort food unless you’re really craving some mashed potatoes or green beans. Options are limited, and contamination risk is high.


Popeyes is known for its famous fried chicken. So, as with KFC, there aren’t too many options to give you the gluten-free love you deserve. But unlike KFC, Popeyes has a bit more variety of sides to choose from.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • green beans
  • coleslaw
  • Cajun rice
  • red rice and beans

Bottom line: Louisiana fast, but not super GF-friendly

Popeyes wouldn’t be our first choice for gluten-free fast food because of the high risk of contamination. But you can get a more complete meal here than at KFC.

Burger King

The last on our list is one of the most popular fast-food chains in America, Burger King. But don’t get your paper crown out yet, because there isn’t much to celebrate. BK lists on its website the items that are considered gluten-free, but it’s not a gluten-free restaurant.

Here are the best gluten-free options:

  • Whoppers (without a bun)
  • apple slices
  • sausage
  • bacon
  • milkshakes
  • Garden Fresh Salad
  • sundaes

Bottom line: The King is risky

Be sure to check whether the type of patty you’re ordering is considered gluten-free. BK comes with a high risk for cross contamination, so if you have a gluten allergy or sensitivity, this shouldn’t be one of your top choices for fast food.

We can’t expect fast-food employees to know everything about allergies or to have psychic abilities to know whether you have one. Different restaurants and employees will prepare and cook their food differently, so even if something is labeled gluten-free, there’s always a chance of cross contamination.

If you have celiac disease or a non-celiac gluten sensitivity, be sure to let an employee know or talk to a manager beforehand. Don’t be afraid to ask how the food is prepared or cooked.

Some major chains, like McDonald’s, Burger King, or KFC, might not be your best options. But if you do your research and find places like Chipotle, Chick-fil-A, or In-N-Out Burger, you’ll have some pretty good options.

When in doubt, research menus or call the restaurant beforehand to get an idea of what you’re in for and how high of a risk you’ll be taking.

(Video) No Sugar, Dairy, and Gluten for 60 Days. Heres What Happened.


Which fast food french fries are gluten-free? ›

Chick-fil-A, In-N-Out Burger, and Five Guys all have gluten-free French fries that are cooked in a separate fryer. McDonald's and Burger King cook their French fries in a shared fryer, meaning they cannot be considered gluten-free.

What are the worst foods for gluten? ›

Processed foods that often contain gluten
  • Beer, ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley)
  • Breads.
  • Bulgur wheat.
  • Cakes and pies.
  • Candies.
  • Cereals.
  • Communion wafers.
  • Cookies and crackers.

What is in Chick-fil-A gluten free bun? ›

Gluten-free bun. Made from a mix with ancient grains, like sorghum, amaranth, millet, quinoa and teff, the gluten-free bun option makes sandwich-eating on the go easier for those looking to eat less gluten in their diet.

Are Five Guys fries gluten-free? ›

If you're looking for safe gluten-free fast food, look no further than Five Guys Burgers & Fries. Five Guys keeps it simple by making everything fresh, from burgers to fresh-cut fries. There isn't a freezer in the place, and the fryer is dedicated gluten free.

Is anything at subway gluten-free? ›

According to the Subway website, select Subway restaurants carry gluten-free bread. It's made and packaged in a gluten-free facility and then is sent to Subway restaurants wrapped. It's not baked inside the restaurant like Subway's signature breads, and it comes in a six-inch option only.

Does gluten cause inflammation? ›

Gluten exposure may cause inflammation in gluten-sensitive individuals. The inflammation may result in widespread pain, including in the joints and muscles ( 44 ). People with a gluten sensitivity also seem to be more likely to experience arm and leg numbness ( 58 ).

What are the first signs of being gluten intolerant? ›

Seven symptoms of a gluten intolerance
  • Diarrhea and constipation. Symptoms of gluten intolerance may include constipation, fatigue, headaches, and nausea. ...
  • Bloating. Another very common symptom that people report in cases of gluten intolerance is bloating. ...
  • Abdominal pain. ...
  • Fatigue. ...
  • Nausea. ...
  • Headaches. ...
  • Other symptoms.
6 Jun 2018

Can gluten intolerance go away? ›

There's no cure for gluten intolerance. But most people find relief from symptoms by following a gluten-free diet. You should work with your healthcare provider and a dietitian to plan your diet. You can also ask your healthcare provider about adding probiotics to your diet.

Does subway have gluten free bread? ›

***Our Gluten Free Bread is manufactured in a gluten free facility, however, as other ingredients in our stores contain gluten and products are prepared on shared equipment, our Gluten Free Breads may come in contact with gluten as we prepare your meal.

Does five guys have gluten free buns? ›

Since Five Guys buns are not gluten free, we offer our customers the option of going bun-less! You may order a burger in a No Bun Bowl or lettuce wrap. We even suggest bringing your favourite gluten free bun with you as it is a pretty simple burger to bun transfer.

Are waffle fries at Chick-fil-A gluten-free? ›

Gluten-Free Sides at Chick-fil-A

Waffle potato fries: Chick-fil-A waffle fries are fried in a dedicated French fry fryer. And since French fries are naturally gluten-free (when made with only potato, oil and salt), these are safe to eat!

Are McDonald fries gluten-free? ›

There's some debate about whether there is major cross-contamination in their fries during the frying process. But according to McDonald's website, there is not! They do not cook their potatoey goodnesses in the same fryers as their gluten items — making them safe to eat for our celiac friends.

Are the French fries at mcdonalds gluten-free? ›

The items on our menu that are free from ingredients containing gluten include our French Fries, which are cooked in dedicated fryers using a non-hydrogenated vegetable oil; Hash Browns; Fruit Bags; Carrot Sticks and Shaker Side Salad® with Balsamic Dressing; as well as some McFlurry® desserts, such as the Crunchie and ...

Does Burger King do gluten-free? ›

Burger King boasts a large gluten-free menu but with a big caveat: the menu is broken down by ingredient, not menu item. This means that people with gluten intolerances must carefully review the ingredients of each menu item. A Whopper without the bun should be gluten-free.

Are Wendy's fries gluten-free? ›

Are Wendy's fries gluten-free? No, Wendy's French fries are not gluten-free. Although they are made from naturally gluten-free ingredients (potatoes, sea salt, and vegetable oil), Wendy's cannot guarantee that they are gluten-free, since they aren't made in a dedicated gluten-free fryer.

Does Burger King have a gluten free bun? ›

This is the perfect option for anyone looking for both dairy and gluten-free options. In some countries, Burger King offers a gluten free bun, but it hasn't made its way to US locations just yet.

Is ketchup gluten-free? ›

Ketchup doesn't contain wheat, barley, or rye. As such, it's a naturally gluten-free product. However, some brands may use wheat-derived vinegar or produce their ketchup in a facility that manufactures other gluten-containing foods, which may contaminate it.

Are Doritos gluten-free? ›

Asking yourself, “Are Doritos gluten-free?” Most flavors of Doritos do not appear to be made with gluten. However, only the Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are officially labeled as gluten-free.

Does Panda Express have gluten-free? ›

Panda Express explicitly says on its website it does not offer gluten-free or vegetarian options. Therefore, if you must eat gluten-free, this isn't the restaurant for you.

Are Sun Chips gluten-free? ›

Sun Chips are manufactured by Frito Lay and no, they are not gluten-free. All varieties of Sun Chips are made with wheat which contains gluten.

What happens to your body when you stop eating gluten? ›

There's no scientific evidence to suggest that people actually go through “withdrawal” when they stop eating gluten. Some people report feeling dizziness, nausea, extreme hunger and even anxiety and depression when they suddenly go from eating a lot of gluten to being gluten-free.

Does gluten affect your joints? ›

The Connection Between Gluten and Arthritis. If you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, changing your diet may help ease arthritis symptoms. Joint pain and inflammation can be common symptoms for the estimated 3 million adults and children in the U.S.

Why does gluten cause joint pain? ›

Gluten and Joint Inflammation

When a person with celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity eats gluten (gliadin and glutenin proteins) the immune system jumps into action, causing inflammation. This inflammation can affect the body's organs and soft tissue.

What is a gluten belly type? ›

The term gluten belly is used to define the feeling that some people experience after eating foods containing gluten. This sensation usually consists of feeling sick, tired, or bloated.

How do I get gluten out of my system fast? ›

Taking an increased dose of probiotics after symptoms have eased will promote the growth of good gut bacteria to restore what gluten has washed away. Digestive enzymes naturally speed up digestion and push the gluten through the system quicker.

What does gluten intolerance poop look like? ›

More than 50% of gluten-sensitive individuals regularly experience diarrhea, while about 25% experience constipation (8Trusted Source). Furthermore, individuals with celiac disease may experience pale and foul-smelling feces due to poor nutrient absorption.

Can probiotics help gluten intolerance? ›

It is demonstrated that probiotics have gluten hydrolysis enzymes as an alternative or adjuvant treatment for relieving symptoms of CD and could be critical in the management of the disease (8,9). It seems that these enzymes can be used to digest and destroy gluten in patients with gluten sensitivity.

Why is gluten intolerance so common now? ›

Experts have given the following reasons as potential causes: Wheat grain has been altered to provide crops that are more resistant to drought and bake more easily. Our stomachs, however, have not adapted as quickly to these changes. We are eating more wheat products now than ever before.

Does gluten cause inflammation in face? ›

A typical gluten face will present with red, puffy cheeks, with spots of hyperpigmentation around the chin. Some people will also have pimples spread out over the chin. Your face can also become bloated or swollen.

Does Dunkin Doughnuts have gluten-free Doughnuts? ›

Unfortunately, none of the doughnuts or breakfast sandwiches at Dunkin' Donuts are gluten-free. There is also no indication that Dunkin' Donuts has plans to offer gluten-free bread options at any time in the future.

Does Mayo have gluten? ›

Mayonnaise or “mayo” is typically made from naturally gluten-free ingredients: eggs, oil, vinegar, lemon and sometimes mustard/mustard seed or other spices. Mayo brands that have a gluten-free label have passed thorough testing and are safe to eat for people with celiac disease.

Are DQ Blizzards gluten-free? ›

Please know, many of our Blizzard® candies and toppings contain wheat, rye, oats, and/or barley and would not be safe for a customer with gluten intolerance. As the Blizzard® machine is used for all flavors, cross-contamination may occur on any flavor Blizzard®.

Is there gluten in Red Robin fries? ›

French Fries

While I love Red Robin's burgers, they come with bottomless steak fries, and this makes them even better. Thank goodness french fries are naturally gluten-free!

Are Five Guys fries celiac safe? ›

As for the fries, you're also in luck if you're gluten free. The fries are cooked in 100% peanut oil, and the fryers aren't shared with any other food, so you don't have to worry about any cross-contamination issues there. Let me just praise Five Guys fries for a second. They are amazing.

Is peanut oil gluten-free? ›

It's important to know that peanuts, peanut butter, peanut flour and peanut oil are considered naturally gluten-free foods. Gluten is a form of protein found in wheat, barley and rye (2).

Are McDonald's hash browns gluten free? ›

The McDonald's website makes it clear that their hash browns are not gluten-free. When listing out their ingredients, there is an asterisk for their “natural beef flavor” ingredient. This asterisk says their natural beef flavor “contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients.”

Does arbys have gluten-free buns? ›

If you're looking for something quick, they have a gf bun. If you tell them “celiac” the bun is toasted in a separate gf toaster. Manager was very knowledgeable. Had the classic beef and cheddar on the gf bun.

Is McDonald's french fries gluten free? ›

The items on our menu that are free from ingredients containing gluten include our French Fries, which are cooked in dedicated fryers using a non-hydrogenated vegetable oil; Hash Browns; Fruit Bags; Carrot Sticks and Shaker Side Salad® with Balsamic Dressing; as well as some McFlurry® desserts, such as the Crunchie and ...

Can you eat french fries on a gluten free diet? ›

French fries, as is, are naturally gluten free. They're made from sliced potatoes deep fried in oil. When you make fries at home with fresh potatoes and oil, your fries will be 100 percent gluten free with no worry of gluten in sight.

Why do fries have gluten? ›

Gluten is a type of protein found in grains including, but not limited to, wheat, rye, and barley, as well as items that have been contaminated with gluten by growing beside these grains. Typically, french fries are made from sliced potatoes, which are a type of starchy vegetable.

Do potato chips contain gluten? ›

Most potato chips, veggie chips, and tortilla chips are gluten-free, though you may want to look for a gluten-free label just to be safe. Meanwhile, you should avoid pita chips and any chips made with flour, whole wheat, wheat starch, or malt vinegar.

Does Burger King do gluten-free? ›

Burger King boasts a large gluten-free menu but with a big caveat: the menu is broken down by ingredient, not menu item. This means that people with gluten intolerances must carefully review the ingredients of each menu item. A Whopper without the bun should be gluten-free.

Are hashbrowns at Mcdonalds gluten-free? ›

The McDonald's website makes it clear that their hash browns are not gluten-free. When listing out their ingredients, there is an asterisk for their “natural beef flavor” ingredient. This asterisk says their natural beef flavor “contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients.”

Are Wendy's fries gluten-free? ›

Are Wendy's fries gluten-free? No, Wendy's French fries are not gluten-free. Although they are made from naturally gluten-free ingredients (potatoes, sea salt, and vegetable oil), Wendy's cannot guarantee that they are gluten-free, since they aren't made in a dedicated gluten-free fryer.

Are Mcdonald's chicken nuggets gluten-free? ›

No, McNuggets contain wheat flour and are not gluten free.

Are Chick Fil A fries gluten-free? ›

Are the fries at Chick-fil-A gluten-free? Yes, the fries at Chick-fil-A are naturally gluten-free. Because they're fried in a separate fryer, there is no risk of cross-contamination with gluten-products. They are safe to eat on a gluten-free diet.

What frozen fries are gluten-free? ›

Ore-Ida. Ore-Ida labels most of its frozen French fries in bags as gluten-free. It also labels many of its tater tot products as gluten-free. Since Ore-Ida products are readily available in grocery stores, this brand is your best bet for frozen gluten-free fries and tater tots.

Does ketchup have gluten? ›

Ketchup doesn't contain wheat, barley, or rye. As such, it's a naturally gluten-free product. However, some brands may use wheat-derived vinegar or produce their ketchup in a facility that manufactures other gluten-containing foods, which may contaminate it.

Does popcorn have gluten? ›

So, Yes popcorn is considered a naturally gluten-free snack food! Popcorn is enjoyed by many, even those with Celiac disease.

Do pickles have gluten? ›

Most pickles are gluten-free. Pickles brined with distilled vinegars — like those made from corn or apple cider vinegar — will not contain gluten and should be safe to eat if you follow a gluten-free diet due to celiac disease. However, you should avoid pickles made with malt vinegar or rice vinegar.


1. Top 10 Foods that Cause Mucus (Avoid with Asthma and COPD)
(Respiratory Therapy Zone)
2. Stay KETO when eating FAST FOOD & Traveling
3. Eating at the Worst-Rated Buffet I Could Find on Yelp | One Star Reviews
4. 7 Foods You Should NEVER Eat If You Have Arthritis (R.A)/Fibromyalgia - REAL Patient
(Bob & Brad)
5. Best & Worst Foods to Eat with Hemorrhoids | How to Reduce Risk and Symptoms of Hemorrhoids
(JJ Medicine)
6. 10 Foods That Cause Inflammation (Avoid These)
(Lacey Baier)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Barbera Armstrong

Last Updated: 01/09/2023

Views: 6579

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (59 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Barbera Armstrong

Birthday: 1992-09-12

Address: Suite 993 99852 Daugherty Causeway, Ritchiehaven, VT 49630

Phone: +5026838435397

Job: National Engineer

Hobby: Listening to music, Board games, Photography, Ice skating, LARPing, Kite flying, Rugby

Introduction: My name is Barbera Armstrong, I am a lovely, delightful, cooperative, funny, enchanting, vivacious, tender person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.